Running and Nutrition

Now I don’t need to preach to you about what you put in your body everyday as most people know that a piece of fruit is a better choice than a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup!  Yes, I get it that it tastes great but realistically, I am looking at the long haul as opposed to the quick fix.  I’ve had my dietary problems for years and after I began my running adventures, I found myself opting for better choices and how they make me feel when I do run.  This is coming from someone who had an unreal metabolism and could burn off anything I put in my body!  Over the years, I entered hot and spicy contests and ate so many foods that I never realized would affect me in the long run. (Pun)

A few years back, I was diagnosed with incredibly high cholesterol and triglycerides as well as Gastric Esophageal Reflux Disease.  I blame working at the firehouse and not really having a choice and what we ate.  Most of the time, we had to eat quick unhealthy meals in case we had extended calls.  Well, sadly, that catches up to you.  Of course I was prescribed meds for both the cholesterol and reflux and hated how they made me feel.  I know they did their job to an extent but still made me feel horrible.  After a couple of years on the meds, my numbers didn’t really come down to where we’d like them.  This is where I decided to make some changes.

I started running and while I was slow at first, the constant exercise just made me feel better!  I minimized (not stopped) my love for Dr. Pepper and stopped eating highly acidic and damaging foods.  Over the last 3 years, my running intensified and my diet changed to stay in line with my training.  I began juicing and eating more salads and fruits.  I even convinced some of the guys at the firehouse to try new healthier meals.  My cholesterol and triglycerides and back down to safer levels though I still have a hereditary factor to contend with but off of medications!  I no longer wake up with stomach pain and a horrid taste in my mouth.  I contribute that to what you hear every day…DIET AND EXERCISE!

IMG_6056  SAD        IMG_6057 HAPPY

That brings me to my running nutrition…

Weeks leading to races – less pop, more fruits and vegetables, and basically a healthier choice of meals with few refined sugars and oily choices.

Couple of days before races – Starting to build on my simple sugar carbs with pastas and high fiber fruits/vegetables

Day before races – Smoothie breakfast (recipe below), Sandwich lunch (some sort of sub with turkey, bread, veggies), and a medium sized carb dinner (pasta with meatballs and a light sauce like pesto)

Morning of races – I’m not usually a big breakfast person but only during big events like races or OCRs I’ll have a bagel with honey or peanut butter a couple of hourse before that activity.  I’ll hydrate well before a race but still take a drink during the race.

Post races – Depending on the type of race I did (OCR, 1/2 marathon, 5k) I am usually brutally hungry!  I’m more apt to splurge and eat heavily to refuel.  Right after races, I always opt for a water and some sort of fruit like the usual apple or banana.  But that night???  I am eating like a pig!  This is where I’ll be opting for my muscle rebuilding proteins like meat filled pizza, steak, burgers, chicken marsala, or seafood.

So, I’m still learning what works for my body and I feel it works for me, I still understand that it can be tweaked and adjusted to make it better and more effective.  To be continued…

IMG_6032

My recipe for my favorite morning smoothie:

1 jalapeno

1/2 cucumber

1 banana

1 peach

1 handful of kale

1/4 cup of cilantro

1 cup of rice milk

10 blueberries

Squeeze of lime

Either 1/2 cup of watermelon or pineapple

One Comment on “Running and Nutrition

  1. Now I can leave comments!!!! I am technology challenged, haha!
    That’s awesome that you were able to come off of your medications by changing your diet and excersing regularly! I think there are so many people out there that could do the same, but they don’t m have the knowledge, and that’s sad. Good for you for spreading the word! And jalapeño in a smoothie? Hmmm that sounds interesting! Haha maybe I’ll be brave enough to try it someday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fitsconsinmom

A Wisconsin Mom training for a Triathlon & Adventures along the way!

Libertyville Running Club

If it ain't fun, you're doing it wrong!

The Jedi Mind Trick

Styling, Fashion, Fitness, Rants, Sports, and Quotes

Never A Dull Bling

The trials and tribulations of a 40-something novice runner

Run, Eat, Ralph

Running things and eliminating caloric deficits. Usually with pizza. And beer. And donuts.

AM Runs

The road to ultra... through a life lived with passion and compassion!

Running for My Life

Running and all things going on my life, but mostly running

MDRunning

Getting to Life's Finish Line One Mile at a Time

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

thelaterunner

I'm am learning to be a true runner.

The Swag Mama

Scoring sweet swag, reviewing awesome products and living the rad mom life.

CONSTANTLY

A Blog for the Girl on the Run

Type 1 Running Shoes

Running with type 1 diabetes

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

runHARD – alwaysFINISH

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

See Amanda Run

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Runner in Progress

All things running. The good, the bad and the ugly.

DawanaHug.com

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Emily A Nickles

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Road Back to Boston

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Organic girl's Blog

My Life..My Words..

My Kind of FIT

...He's along for the run

See Sam Run

My journeys as a beginner distance runner

A Girl on a Search for Adventure

A blog about my travels and running adventures

Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

Running, Lifting, and Everything In Between

m a r g i n a l i a

notes from a creative writing PhD candidate

B In Transition

| Transition + Realign + Transcend |

Old Soul Marathoner

Adventures of a running-obsessed college girl with an old soul.

Tracey's Trailhead

The intersection of writing, running, and leaving the world better than I found it.

runningaroundtheboyz

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

plantpoweredanna

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Kolbe Writes.

Writing, running, teaching.

TMilesAndRunning

Follow my running journey as I train for upcoming Races

Running Through Life

Journey's From The Road

livinglovingrunner

living, loving, and running are what keeps me alive

Confessions of an Amateur Athlete

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

The Valley Isle Runner

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Parent, Teach, RUN

I Parent, I Teach, I RUN

For the Love of Spin

Swimspinruneat.com

SIKWATE.ORG

LIVE LIFE. LOVE LIFE.

