Running week of July 4-10

This was a week that I could have done without.  It started out okay but doing some non-fitness related things led to an injury that I probably could have prevented.  I’m one of those OCD people that wants to get things started and completed before I become a procrastinator.  I was moving furniture to paint and 2 heavy dressers needed to be shifted to get to the walls.  Now instead of emptying the drawers or removing them, I decided to just push and pull.  Well I did and ended up pushing/pulling my lower back.  I didn’t feel any specific injury that day of and a little soreness at night.  But, the next morning was supposed to be my longest run to date according to my marathon plan.  I woke up around 4:30am only to have brutal debilitating muscular pain in my low back that shot to my legs.  I’ve had low back strains before so I knew that’s all this was – but painful nonetheless.  So, Saturday and Sunday were recovery days so that I don’t do anything more serious.  Here’s to a better more careful week!

Monday July 4
I worked at the firehouse on Independence Day and that’s okay because it’s a great public image day with being in the parade and overseeing fireworks.  I still had time to get my 4 mile run in on the suckmill at 9 minute 6 second average pace.  T didn’t do much strength training in afterwards as the day was just too busy.
7-4-16 (5).JPG

Tuesday July 5
Today was all about speedwork as I ran 3 miles at 7 minutes and 33 seconds average.  I felt good going this fast and I’m looking forward to my next 5K to test that speed out and get another PR.  I ran my neighborhood since there are tons of trails surrounding the subdivision.  Really thinking that the Saucony Zealots are my go to shoes now.  It was a little muggy and hot out but that dodn’t stop me and using my Orange Mud HydraQuiver!
7-5-16 (6).JPG

Wednesday July 6
I didn’t do any running today as I had too much to do at home and projects galore.

Thursday July 7
Another day at the firehouse and it’s starting to seem like I get more running done at work than I do at home on my offdays!  I spend some good time on the treadmill and ran 5 miles at 8 minute 47 second pace running back in my Nike Lunarglides.  I actually spent some time before and after on the torturous foam roller.  Pain but good pain.
7-7-16 (2).JPG

Friday July 8
This day was all about resting up for Saturday’s long run so I divulged in my ritual carb loading and hydrating.  If you know me well, then you know I’ll do anything for pizza.  Not just everyday ordinary pizza but true Neapolitan pizza.  This is the type of pizza that cooks in under 2 minutes of a true artisan brick pizza oven.  I have a few favorites downtown Chicago that I love and crave.  Just look at this stuff!!!  Then I came home to move some furniture around and that’s when all hell broke loose.
IMG_1218.JPG
IMG_1214
Spacca Napoli 6.JPG

Saturday July 9
Well I set out my running clothes and gear the night before eagerly anticipating my longest run to date for an early morning excursion with a couple of Run Junkee friends only to disappoint them.  I set the alarm for 4:30am to get up fresh and rested for our 16 miler only to be greeted by horrible low back pain that shot to my legs.  I knew that the run wasn’t going to happen so I texted that I was bowing out.  I hated doing it but knew I would be better off resting until I felt much better.  Sometimes, you get thrown curveballs when you were expecting a fastball down the middle.  Until I feel 100% I will be resting my body, legs, knees, and back!

Sunday July 10
On duty and yet another rest day with some stretching throughout the day as well as ice massages!

2 Comments on “Running week of July 4-10

  1. You be careful Frank!! Those injuries aren’t any fun! Glad working the 4th isn’t that bad for you! I always hate it, haha. That pizza looks amazing by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1. Now I need pizza
    2. You on that foam roller makes me hurt
    3. Great work and I hope your back is better by now!! At least you didn’t push through it! But that’s the worst… actually getting up super early and then unable to run 😦 nice work!!! And seriously, I need that pizza now!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fitsconsinmom

A Wisconsin Mom training for a Triathlon & Adventures along the way!

Libertyville Running Club

If it ain't fun, you're doing it wrong!

The Jedi Mind Trick

Styling, Fashion, Fitness, Rants, Sports, and Quotes

Never A Dull Bling

The trials and tribulations of a 40-something novice runner

Run, Eat, Ralph

Running things and eliminating caloric deficits. Usually with pizza. And beer. And donuts.

AM Runs

The road to ultra... through a life lived with passion and compassion!

Running for My Life

Running and all things going on my life, but mostly running

MDRunning

Getting to Life's Finish Line One Mile at a Time

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

thelaterunner

I'm am learning to be a true runner.

The Swag Mama

Scoring sweet swag, reviewing awesome products and living the rad mom life.

CONSTANTLY

A Blog for the Girl on the Run

Type 1 Running Shoes

Running with type 1 diabetes

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

runHARD – alwaysFINISH

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

See Amanda Run

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Runner in Progress

All things running. The good, the bad and the ugly.

DawanaHug.com

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Emily A Nickles

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Road Back to Boston

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Organic girl's Blog

My Life..My Words..

My Kind of FIT

...He's along for the run

See Sam Run

My journeys as a beginner distance runner

A Girl on a Search for Adventure

A blog about my travels and running adventures

Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

Running, Lifting, and Everything In Between

m a r g i n a l i a

notes from a creative writing PhD candidate

B In Transition

| Transition + Realign + Transcend |

Old Soul Marathoner

Adventures of a running-obsessed college girl with an old soul.

Tracey's Trailhead

The intersection of writing, running, and leaving the world better than I found it.

runningaroundtheboyz

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

plantpoweredanna

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Kolbe Writes.

Writing, running, teaching.

TMilesAndRunning

Follow my running journey as I train for upcoming Races

Running Through Life

Journey's From The Road

livinglovingrunner

living, loving, and running are what keeps me alive

Confessions of an Amateur Athlete

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

The Valley Isle Runner

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Parent, Teach, RUN

I Parent, I Teach, I RUN

For the Love of Spin

Swimspinruneat.com

SIKWATE.ORG

LIVE LIFE. LOVE LIFE.

