Running week of July 25-31

Though the week started out a little warm, it ended up with decent temperatures and a nice long run.  There’s only about 70+ days left until the Chicago Marathon and I know the upcoming weeks are going to be filled with hefty mileage and muscular endurance challenges.  These last few long runs usually leave me with some heavy legs and fatigue but lately, I feel like I’m recovering pretty quickly.  Hmmm, is this a sign of decent training or eating/hydrating better or even both?!  Either way, I’m pretty happy with the dedication I’m putting into this adventure.  I will be picking up my @RAMRacing BTN Big 10K packet on Tuesday for the race on Saturday morning.  I cannot wait to test out my stronger legs and hopefully place in the old man’s division!

Monday July 25
On duty treadmill running in my new trail shoes.  I know they aren’t meant for running on a treadmill but I wanted to see how they felt and start getting some miles in before Colorado.  They felt okay, but definitely much less cushion in them.  I ended up running  faster 6 miles at 8 minutes 20 seconds average.
7-25-16.JPG

Tuesday July 26
I took a rest day on this day and really did not do much but work around the house and take care of some baseball stuff.

Wednesday July 27
This was all about track work and fast sprints.  I ran 3 miles of intervals with short rest periods just to keep the legs working.  I intended on getting some pizza afterwards but couldn’t squeeze it into my schedule!  Truly devastating…
IMG_1734.JPG

Thursday July 28
No running on this duty day at the firehouse but that doesn’t mean I didn’t get a workout in.  We trained on climbing the Truck at 104 feet and if you’ve ever climbed a long ladder, you’ll know that climbing it at 75% incline a few times will make your legs feel the burn!    Then, we ended up catching a 7th alarm propane explosion fire and worked our butts off for about 4 hours.  My legs were abused on this day!
IMG_1744.JPG
IMG_1769.JPG

Friday July 29
Finally, the weather lightened up a bit and gave us some cool thunderstorms and much needed 70 degree weather.  I ended up running a quick 3 miler at 7 minutes 30 seconds average to prepare myself for the upcoming @RAMRacing Rock the Night 5K.
7-29-16 (3).JPG

Saturday July 30
Ahhh, Saturday long runs.  While I used to dread the end of the week for these types of runs, I feel myself getting better at this running thing and killed my 14 mile run in my Saucony Zealots.  I ended up running at my marathon pace (Don’t ask) and had some brutal molar pain.  I’ve been putting off getting the impacted molars yanked out and every time I landed during the run, the vibrations made me feel alive…
7-30-16 (6).JPG

Sunday July 31
It was pretty much a rest day for running but I did manage to get in some stretching.  I was also challenged to do the 22 day 22 push up challenge for combat veterans which I proudly completed.
IMG_1886.PNG

2 Comments on “Running week of July 25-31

  1. Oh wow, awesome week! Glad it cooled off a bit for you. Love your creative pic on the 14 mile! Keep it up, you’re killin it! And props to you for those treadmill runs, my form must be wacky bc I always end up injured or sore after the dread mill 😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fitsconsinmom

A Wisconsin Mom training for a Triathlon & Adventures along the way!

Libertyville Running Club

If it ain't fun, you're doing it wrong!

The Jedi Mind Trick

Styling, Fashion, Fitness, Rants, Sports, and Quotes

Never A Dull Bling

The trials and tribulations of a 40-something novice runner

Run, Eat, Ralph

Running things and eliminating caloric deficits. Usually with pizza. And beer. And donuts.

AM Runs

The road to ultra... through a life lived with passion and compassion!

Running for My Life

Running and all things going on my life, but mostly running

MDRunning

Getting to Life's Finish Line One Mile at a Time

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

thelaterunner

I'm am learning to be a true runner.

The Swag Mama

Scoring sweet swag, reviewing awesome products and living the rad mom life.

CONSTANTLY

A Blog for the Girl on the Run

Type 1 Running Shoes

Running with type 1 diabetes

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

runHARD – alwaysFINISH

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

See Amanda Run

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Runner in Progress

All things running. The good, the bad and the ugly.

DawanaHug.com

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Emily A Nickles

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Road Back to Boston

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Organic girl's Blog

My Life..My Words..

My Kind of FIT

...He's along for the run

See Sam Run

My journeys as a beginner distance runner

A Girl on a Search for Adventure

A blog about my travels and running adventures

Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

Running, Lifting, and Everything In Between

m a r g i n a l i a

notes from a creative writing PhD candidate

B In Transition

| Transition + Realign + Transcend |

Old Soul Marathoner

Adventures of a running-obsessed college girl with an old soul.

Tracey's Trailhead

The intersection of writing, running, and leaving the world better than I found it.

runningaroundtheboyz

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

plantpoweredanna

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Kolbe Writes.

Writing, running, teaching.

TMilesAndRunning

Follow my running journey as I train for upcoming Races

Running Through Life

Journey's From The Road

livinglovingrunner

living, loving, and running are what keeps me alive

Confessions of an Amateur Athlete

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

The Valley Isle Runner

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Parent, Teach, RUN

I Parent, I Teach, I RUN

For the Love of Spin

Swimspinruneat.com

SIKWATE.ORG

LIVE LIFE. LOVE LIFE.

