Running week of August 8-14

I think I did pretty well this week in my training not just in running but also with some strength training.  I was primarily training for the RAM Racing Rock the Night 5K but knew I had my longest run to date to finish off the week.  Plus, I was challenged by a firefighter from another department to do the 22 Day Push-up Challenge.  This was a challenge to support the 22 soldiers who commit suicide each day due to PTSD and we were tasked with performing 22 pushups a day for 22 days to raise awareness for those who suffered from it.  I definitely supported this challenge and knew strength training would help out my running considerably.  As for my running, I tried to keep up my weekly mileage and increase in speed.  I really want to prove something to myself that I can run a 5K under 24minutes at my age and I’m thinking that I will do this!

Monday August 8
I ran 4 easy miles in 85 degree weather.  It was still pretty hot out but my legs felt okay.  I ran in the Nike Lunarglides and pretty much have decided that these will be my marathon shoes. 8-8-16 (5)

Tuesday August 9
This was an on duty day and I was on day 9/22 of the pushups challenge.  I didn’t do any running at the firehouse but did stretch.

Wednesday August 10
I ended up running 6 miles at night in the cooler temperatures.  This was day 10/22 of the pushup challenge and I did clapping pushups.
8-10-16 (5)

Thursday August 11
Day 11/22 of the pushup challenge and I ended up doing handstand pushups and my arms pretty much fell off!

Friday August 12
On duty again at the firehouse and day 12/22 of the pushup challenge.  I did my pushups in full turnout gear and SCBA.  I’m trying to step it up each day!

Saturday August 13
This was a rest day for me since I had way too much going on and just didn’t do much fitness.  I did however walk a couple of miles to keep my legs loose for tomorrow’s long run.

Sunday August 14
I was really dreading this run since it was going to be my longest run ever.  I woke up early at 5:45am to beat the heat and the temps were hovering around 6o degrees.  It was cloudy and cool out so I was excited about running without brutal heat.  I carried my Orange Mud HydraQuiver and loaded it up with some GU gels.  I knew I’d need to figure out my hydration and fuel for this long one.  I ended up filling my water bottle 3 times at fountains along the course.  I ran the Savannah and did pretty well at Marathon pace for the first 10 miles.  The last 8 hurt.  Not going to lie.  My legs were definitely fatigued for the last couple of painful miles.  I took in 3 GUs:
Strawberry/Banana at 100 calories/450mg amino acids/55mg sodium/0 caffeine
Salted Caramel at 100 calories/450mg amino acids/125mg sodium/20mg caffeine
Espresso Love at 100 calories/450mg amino acids/60mg sodium/40mg caffeine
8-14-16

One Comment on “Running week of August 8-14

  1. Awesome week!!! Congrats on your longest run ever! My longest ever is 13 so far… I know what you mean about those last few miles! That’s nice that you have fountains along the way to fill up! I don’t have that where I run… there’s one fountain at the park nearby but I’m not even sure I’d let a dog drink that water lol. So that’s a plus!!! I really wish I had that! Keep up the awesome work and great job on your 22 push up challenge, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fitsconsinmom

A Wisconsin Mom training for a Triathlon & Adventures along the way!

Libertyville Running Club

If it ain't fun, you're doing it wrong!

The Jedi Mind Trick

Styling, Fashion, Fitness, Rants, Sports, and Quotes

Never A Dull Bling

The trials and tribulations of a 40-something novice runner

Run, Eat, Ralph

Running things and eliminating caloric deficits. Usually with pizza. And beer. And donuts.

AM Runs

The road to ultra... through a life lived with passion and compassion!

Running for My Life

Running and all things going on my life, but mostly running

MDRunning

Getting to Life's Finish Line One Mile at a Time

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

thelaterunner

I'm am learning to be a true runner.

The Swag Mama

Scoring sweet swag, reviewing awesome products and living the rad mom life.

CONSTANTLY

A Blog for the Girl on the Run

Type 1 Running Shoes

Running with type 1 diabetes

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

runHARD – alwaysFINISH

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

See Amanda Run

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Runner in Progress

All things running. The good, the bad and the ugly.

DawanaHug.com

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Emily A Nickles

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Road Back to Boston

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Organic girl's Blog

My Life..My Words..

My Kind of FIT

...He's along for the run

See Sam Run

My journeys as a beginner distance runner

A Girl on a Search for Adventure

A blog about my travels and running adventures

Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

Running, Lifting, and Everything In Between

m a r g i n a l i a

notes from a creative writing PhD candidate

B In Transition

| Transition + Realign + Transcend |

Old Soul Marathoner

Adventures of a running-obsessed college girl with an old soul.

Tracey's Trailhead

The intersection of writing, running, and leaving the world better than I found it.

runningaroundtheboyz

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

plantpoweredanna

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Kolbe Writes.

Writing, running, teaching.

TMilesAndRunning

Follow my running journey as I train for upcoming Races

Running Through Life

Journey's From The Road

livinglovingrunner

living, loving, and running are what keeps me alive

Confessions of an Amateur Athlete

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

The Valley Isle Runner

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Parent, Teach, RUN

I Parent, I Teach, I RUN

For the Love of Spin

Swimspinruneat.com

SIKWATE.ORG

LIVE LIFE. LOVE LIFE.

