Staying a positive person

While I’m not certain about my future in running after scheduling my surgery on November 29th, I will be positive and strive to get back to the sport that has given me so much.  Over the last couple of months, I’ve been going back and forth with different tests and physician opinions on what is going on inside my right leg.  I’ve had the manual tests, the MRI, and the Dynamic Ultrasound that finally showed I had a complete tear of the quad tendon superior to my patella with a small bone fragment broken off.  The odd part is that it doesn’t really hurt to walk on it or do any of my daily activities.  What does hurt is climbing ladders (part of being a firefighter) and trying to get back up after squatting.  I physically cannot get back up without assistance or grabbing something to pull me up.  Yesterday, a reputable orthopedic surgeon called me to say after discussing the ultrasound results with his team, surgery was the only viable option to get this fixed.  I was told that on flexion, there is a split and tear in the quad tendon that needs to be sutured and anchored to the bone with screws.  Not the news I was hoping for but nonetheless, deep down, I knew I needed to just get it done and move on.

For the first month, I’ll be immobilized at zero degrees with no flexion to allow it to heal properly.  Then, for the next month or so, I will be in physical therapy to increase flexion gradually in increments.  I’ll probably go stir crazy but more intent on rehabbing properly so I can get back out there and race again.  I’m being optimistic about running the Illinois Marathon in April and the Chicago Marathon in October.  What I’m not sure about is continuing in the OCR races like Spartan.  I get that I’m not young anymore, but I am still quite active and you are only as young as you feel.

Thank you to those who have supported me and have messaged me.  I am just floored by the kindness of people who share a similar passion.  I have met many of you and cannot wait to meet more of you at races!  I’ll be leaning on a couple of you during my 2+ months of not running just to hear a friendly voice!

What do you do to keep positive every day?

Have you had a debilitating injury?

What are you grateful for?

3 Comments on “Staying a positive person

  1. Oh goodness, Frank, so sorry to hear that your injury is so severe. But SO glad that you are doing what is necessary to take care of you. Amazing that medical advancements make it so you can hope to run a marathon in a few months after a leg surgery! Happy healing. I will pray for your surgery to go well! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fitsconsinmom

A Wisconsin Mom training for a Triathlon & Adventures along the way!

Libertyville Running Club

If it ain't fun, you're doing it wrong!

The Jedi Mind Trick

Styling, Fashion, Fitness, Rants, Sports, and Quotes

Never A Dull Bling

The trials and tribulations of a 40-something novice runner

Run, Eat, Ralph

Running things and eliminating caloric deficits. Usually with pizza. And beer. And donuts.

AM Runs

The road to ultra... through a life lived with passion and compassion!

Running for My Life

Running and all things going on my life, but mostly running

MDRunning

Getting to Life's Finish Line One Mile at a Time

Catherine Chicotka

A beauty, fashion, and travel lifestyle blog

thelaterunner

I'm am learning to be a true runner.

The Swag Mama

Scoring sweet swag, reviewing awesome products and living the rad mom life.

CONSTANTLY

A Blog for the Girl on the Run

Type 1 Running Shoes

Running with type 1 diabetes

Jolie La Vie

Ridding Ourselves of Excess Weight

runHARD – alwaysFINISH

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

See Amanda Run

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Runner in Progress

All things running. The good, the bad and the ugly.

DawanaHug.com

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Emily A Nickles

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Road Back to Boston

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

50 in 50 Marathon Quest

A fun look at life and running in the Pacific Northwest and my journey to run a marathon in every State.

Organic girl's Blog

My Life..My Words..

My Kind of FIT

...He's along for the run

See Sam Run

My journeys as a beginner distance runner

A Girl on a Search for Adventure

A blog about my travels and running adventures

Running Fast, Lifting Heavy

Running, Lifting, and Everything In Between

m a r g i n a l i a

notes from a creative writing PhD candidate

B In Transition

| Transition + Realign + Transcend |

Old Soul Marathoner

Adventures of a running-obsessed college girl with an old soul.

Tracey's Trailhead

The intersection of writing, running, and leaving the world better than I found it.

runningaroundtheboyz

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

plantpoweredanna

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Kolbe Writes.

Writing, running, teaching.

TMilesAndRunning

Follow my running journey as I train for upcoming Races

Running Through Life

Journey's From The Road

livinglovingrunner

living, loving, and running are what keeps me alive

Confessions of an Amateur Athlete

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

The Valley Isle Runner

Follow my journey in running, hiking, biking, and the outdoors!

Parent, Teach, RUN

I Parent, I Teach, I RUN

For the Love of Spin

Swimspinruneat.com

SIKWATE.ORG

LIVE LIFE. LOVE LIFE.

